THE POWER OF POSITIVE THINKING: HAVING THE RIGHT MENTAL ATTITUDE

 

google Images
google Images

I’ll never get through the whole syllabus before the December exams!

The topics look too complicated; I’ll never pass!

I don’t think I’m smart enough to do this!

Only really clever people do ACCA/ICAN!

The Fear of failure – I have come to discover – is a major barrier between students and passing ACCA exams.

The fear of failure prevents you from putting your all into studying for that exam, and doing your best. If you continue to indulge negative thoughts, finding the motivation to concentrate on studying is difficult.

Do not be mistaken, this is not to say that those who pass ACCA did not experience fear at some point, but they have learnt to replace negative thoughts with positive ones, and master their fear.

Instead of thinking “I’ll never get through the entire syllabus…”, think instead of how to break it down into manageable sizes, as suggested here (insert link to effective studying).

Do not focus on how complex the topics seem; work towards building-up knowledge of a topic area. For example, it may be difficult to grasp consolidated cash flow statements, without first understanding simple cash flow statements, group relationships, etc. We all learn at different rates, and most of us have had, or know of people who seem to know everything before being taught (I wonder why they bother with class).

As a student preparing for professional accounting exams, the importance of having a positive mental attitude should not be underestimated. Believe in your abilities! Do not prematurely write yourself off!

Try staying away from negative people, or don’t discuss your exams with them if you cannot stay away from them.  There are so many people out there who can, and will encourage and inspire you to do better, so why waste time with those who won’t? A while ago, I was sitting the P1 (professional Accountant) exam, and I got talking to another student whom I had never met before that exam day. On telling her that that was my first attempt at P1, she boldly told me I would not pass;  no one passes P1 at first attempt she said. I walked away from her mid-sentence (before she gave me reasons as to why I wouldn’t pass). How dare she? I didn’t need that 30 minutes before my exam! FYI, I passed on first attempt J

Begin today to replace those negative thoughts with positive ones. If yr mind points out weakness/gives you reasons why you may not pass, make plans to correct the weaknesses.

Above all, know that those who have passed are people just like you. They also at some point have felt afraid, and a sense of inadequacy, but they were determined to focus, study, and carry on.

You are only as intelligent as you allow yourself to be.

© countingonaccounting and Nuan Moji, 2013. The unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts & link may be used, if full & clear credit is given to Nuan Moji (blog owner), and countingonaccounting, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

One thought on “THE POWER OF POSITIVE THINKING: HAVING THE RIGHT MENTAL ATTITUDE

Leave a Reply

