Dealing with exam results

ADMINISTRATIVE REVIEW

The results  for the December 2014 exams are out, I had a phone call from a very disappointed student who is in shock because he didn’t pass  papers F9 and P1. In his words:

I had no doubt that I would pass, I did not think that I would ever fail, because I found the questions straightforward. I am sad, but also annoyed, maybe there is a mistake somewhere

We discussed  the administrative review process, and what he  expects from it.  A student can request for an administrative review if he/she is of the opinion that the marks awarded does not reflect actual performance.

In my opinion, I don’t think an administrative review will give the comfort a student may be seeking. Do not expect to see marks awarded per question answered. I am also of the opinion that it is unlikely that results are reviewed upwards, as ACCA prides itself in strict checks and controls during the marking process.

* A huge well done to Peter, Alli, and Sammie; I know your insides felt like liquid while checking your results.

COPYRIGHT

© countingonaccounting and Nuan Moji, 2013. The unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts & link may be used, if full & clear credit is given to Nuan Moji (blog owner), and countingonaccounting, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

