The Chartered Accountant – 5

Samuel Awosupin ACA
Samuel Awosupin ACA

Samuel is a Financial Accountant at a large hospitality company in Lagos, Nigeria, where he is involved in compiling and interpreting reports based on liquidity and profitability for various reporting units within the organisation. Although he wished he had chosen a different course for his undergraduate studies, he studied Accounting in University, and qualified as a chartered accountant with the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN).

He feels that there can be no single general image of accountants, and most people mistake wanting to justify spending as being tight-fisted.

I completed my professional exams in 2012, I had failed Audit and Strategic Financial Management, but overcoming failure boils down to what drives you into writing the exams. Having people who supported me made my journey faster; they were there whenever I lost faith in myself.

Being a chartered accountant has opened ways for me to get relevant roles – I have been challenged by roles assigned to me as a Chartered Accountant.

I wished I had started my Career as an audit trainee to make me more grounded in the profession.

My advice to aspiring accountants is to have a clear cut reason for wanting to be an accountant (rather than just from peer influence); it will keep them going even against all odds.

 

COPYRIGHT

© countingonaccounting and Nuan Moji, 2016. The unauthorised use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts & link may be used, if full & clear credit is given to Nuan Moji (blog owner), and countingonaccounting, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Leave a Reply

